Teams Start Arriving for the Edinburgh International Curling Championship

Teams from all over Europe are now arriving in Edinburgh to compete in the Edinburgh International Curling Championships. Sections A and B have their first round games on Friday morning at 08.30 and section C takes to the ice at 11.00.

In section A, Bruce Mouat, the reigning World Junior Champion plays Poland’s Borys Jasiecki, Alex Baumann plays Scotland’s Ally Fraser and Finland’s Tomi Rantamäki takes on England’s former World Junior Champion skip (when he played for Scotland!) Alan MacDougall. In Section B, Rasmus Stjerne plays David Šik, Yannick Schwaller plays three-time World Champion Ewan MacDonald and Norway’s Magnus Ramsfjell plays Wales’ Adrian Meikle. At 11.00 in section C, previous competition winner Aku Kauste from Finland takes on the Czech Republic’s Karel Kubeška (coached by Brad Askew who will be very welcome back here at Murrayfield), Denmark’s Martin Grønbech plays Cammy Bryce and Felix Attinger plays Dumfries skip Grant Hardie and his team.

The sections are played in round-robin format with each team guaranteed five games over Saturday and Sunday. Subsequent session times (24-hour clock in brackets) are 2.00pm (14.00), 4.20pm (16.20) and 7.25pm (19.25) on Friday.

Apologies to Section C – they have a brutal start time of 8.00am on Saturday morning, Subsequent session times are 10.20am, 1.20pm (13.20), 3.40pm (15.40) and 6.45pm (18.45).

The knock-out sessions all take place on Sunday with the quarter-finals at 8.30, the semis at 11.30 and the final at 2.30pm (14.30).

We are all looking forward to the competition.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.